Author resources: the importance of a good editor.

“Duh,” some of my readers might be thinking to themselves. “Of course an author should hire an editor, everyone knows that.” Most aspiring authors know this as well: every self-help book and article about publishing stresses the importance of hiring an editor.

So why this post? Because despite the frequency of this advice that borders on common sense, as a reader, I still run into cringe-worthy grammar mistakes or plot holes.

AND because I made my own mistakes when I started my own writing journey. Granted, I did hire an editor, so I didn’t have cringe-worthy errors in my initial manuscript … but I wasn’t an award-winner either.

However … after reediting and redesigning the cover for my first book, UnBlessed, I now am an award-winning author. Coincidence? I think not.

So what makes an editor good? All editors are good – no, really! The tricky part is getting the right editor for the right job. Originally, I hired a standard copy editor, meaning she focused on grammar, spelling, and punctuation. Great, right?

Yes … and no.

What I truly needed was a content, or substantive, editor: someone to look at the actual story, to dissect my plot and dialogue and point out the weak spots and my bad habits. Which is why I thank my lucky stars that I found my current editor, James Roberts.

My experience with James has been both enlightening and uplifting. I’ve learned so much about my own writing, and relearned many things I’d forgotten from my high school English days. I appreciate his willingness to explain the reasons behind his edits (and I think he enjoys having an author who genuinely wants to improve her writing to make his life easier – but I could be wrong. 😀 ) The best part of working with James, in my humble opinion, is the fact that he comments on what works well in my writing, in addition to the areas that need improvement. I’m not a particularly fragile writer (though my ego hasn’t been thoroughly tested), but it’s heartening to hear the good stuff with the bad.

So, all you authors out there: make sure you get the right editor for the job. If you find one that fits with your personality and writing style, even better. And if you want to try and steal my awesome editor away … you can try. 😉

Leave a Reply

