UnBlessed is now a book award finalist!

Yes, my friends, you heard that right!

UnBlessed was recently selected as a finalist in the Wishing Shelf Independent Book Awards! What I found most exciting is that this particular award is NOT a popularity contest. My book went out to various members of my target audience (aka, a few high schools, since I’m in the Teen Category) and the readers voted and ranked.

This is an incredible opportunity. To be selected as a finalist, I had to score over 30/40 points in editing, style, cover, and theme. The winners will be announced in April, but even just making finalist is a huge deal! I get a gorgeous award seal (see below) to plaster all over my blog and book and Facebook page (because, why not?) AND I’ll be featured on the Wishing Shelf Independent Book Award website for two years. Plus, there’s a ton of other cool things in store … potential Goodreads promotion, inclusion in a press release sent to major literary magazines, even the opportunity to be discovered by a publisher!

Needless to say, I’ll keep all you wonderful people updated as soon as I know anything (you guys are getting this post literally two hours after I read the email) so stay tuned! Meanwhile, I want to thank my editor and cover designer for helping me get to this point: James and Winter, I seriously couldn’t have done it without you guys. I mean, EDITING and COVER – you guys helped me score two out of three categories! Thank you thank you thank you!

And for all my fans – thanks for sticking with me. Great things are bound to be in store for Myrillia, and it means the world to me that you’ve all been along since the start!

Now, behold my new shiny award seal!

Leave a Reply

