Pulling myself out of the pit.

I have some bad news, and I have some good news. As the type that likes to get the painful stuff out of the way immediately, I’ll start with the bad news.

I’m struggling with writer’s block. 😦

Specifically with Dual Blessed. I’ve gone nearly a month and a half without any idea of how I’m going to get from the beginning to the end. I’ve got a good start, and I know how I want it to end … but that middle is like an empty blank wall.

The good news?

I think I’m finally starting to tear down that wall. I did some heavy adjustments the day before yesterday, and after removing a couple of unnecessary scenes (cute ones, but ultimately unnecessary and probably the source of my stagnant plot) I jotted down a couple of new ideas to explore.

I’m still going to take things slowly – I don’t want to force the story. I want a satisfying resolution, one that meets my high standards and sets the book above the previous installments, and I hope my readers do too. It may mean this last volume is delayed a little bit, but I promise you: I’ll make sure it’s worth the wait.

3 thoughts on “Pulling myself out of the pit.

  1. I know that feeling. I’m on chapter two of the second book of a series. I had a plan, but now I’m having serious doubts about a particular character and that just changes everything. Now what do I do?

    • It depends on how flexible your story is. You might be able to change the character by fleshing out certain scenes differently (I had a similar experience with one of my characters). However, if the character’s change means your whole story changes … You might try writing parallel scenes. Like, try and write one the way you planned, then write the same thing, but with the changed character arc, and see which one resonates with you more. Just remember: NEVER DELETE. Cut and paste onto a new document if you have to, but you never know: you might find a use for that old content in the future.

Leave a Reply

