In other news …

Okay, after my panicked post about my forgotten Virtual Con, I’ve decided to come back and give you guys a real blog post. At least, one that’s not quite so spastic and maybe shares a little bit of what I’ve been up to these last few weeks.

First, I attended the Texas Teen Book Festival on October 1st with a few of my good friends.

book-festival

Celaena Sardothien (me), Dauntless initiate Olivia, Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, and Sabaa Tahir. Best. Book. Festival. Ever.

Now, I attended the Texas Book Festival last year … but the Texas Teen Book Festival is apparently my true calling. Not only did I recognize over half of the authors at the Teen Festival (as opposed to the one I knew at the regular festival) but the gym where they had the vendors and friends of the festival was jam-packed with titles I’ve read (or want to read) … and Owlcrate was even there! They had this awesome spin-the-wheel game for free loot. (I won a book – and got there before their free totes ran out. 😀 ) I managed to get three books signed: A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir, Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake, and Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. My one complaint (which is good natured, I assure you) is the length of time I had to wait in line to get my books signed. I missed out on a lot of panels I really wanted to see because the lines were ridiculous – especially for Sabaa Tahir and Leigh Bardugo. Curses to the explosive nature of YA popularity! Ah well, it was great meeting everyone … and to put the icing on an already awesome experience, I managed to win the costume contest! Well, one of the prizes. I wasn’t at the actual winners announcement (I was in line for Leigh) but someone hunted down my friends and told them I won. So I’m going to say I won. Yay, me!

celeana

I am Celaena Sardothien, and I will not be afraid.

In related news, I started reading Six of Crows while waiting in the signing lines (because, I mean, what better time to read than at a book festival?) and guys: I’m officially obsessed. Maybe not quite Throne of Glass obsessed, but holy cow is it close. I should not love Kaz, there’s a very good reason the other characters call him a demon, but I do. The scene on the ship? With the oyster knife? Gave me the heebie jeebies … and I loved every minute of it! I guess I just love dark, flawed characters. Dark flawed characters capable of doing horrific things … like Celaena in Crown of Midnight with Grave. So yeah, now I have Crooked Kingdom, cause I finished Six of Crows and had a fit over the cliffhanger – and now I’m hoping there’s at least a semi-happy ending. It’s great that it’s only a duology (I know there won’t be any suspense at the end of this one), but at the same time, if things don’t wrap up neatly, then I’ll have no hopes to cling to. Does Leigh normally sink ships? I mean, she wouldn’t write the epic romance sub-plots just to kill someone in the end, right? I do NOT want a Romeo and Juliet!

Okay, enough about the book festival. Why don’t I share some news about my writing? 😀

I have officially finished the first drafts of both my short stories and sent them off to beta readers for analysis. Newsletter subscribers should keep their eyes on their inboxes starting November 1st for a special free sneak peek. Yes, the newsletter is still a thing, even though I haven’t posted since June. I promised not to spam you guys, didn’t I? I adhere strictly to the ‘If I don’t have something relevant and important to say, don’t say anything at all’ mindset. Granted, this is probably why I’ll never be a NY Times bestselling author … but at least you know if I am, you’ll hear about it in my newsletter. 😉

Other exciting news: thanks to an impromptu vacation, I’m going to be doing some extensive writing over the next week! Goals are to get the final book in the Blessings of Myrillia fleshed out and maybe – just maybe – work on a new little project that’s invaded my brain.

Leave a Reply

