Birthday wrap up and back to the grinding stone … or laptop, I guess.

I’ve finally reached the end of my ‘bursting with awesomeness’ timeframe. At least until the end of October, when I start gearing up for the whole Halloween, BlizzCon, Thanksgiving, Christmas excitement. But for now, my new World of Warcraft expansion is out (and it’s EPIC), the contest results are back (not-so-epic), I’ve met one of my favorite authors (BEYOND EPIC), and celebrated my birthday (happy birthday to me!)

I mentioned in my last post that I’m enjoying Legion. I’ve now gotten one character to max level, and I’m astounded by the amount of end-game content available. Normally, I’m a bit of an alt-oholic (meaning I play a lot of characters), but it’s pretty hard to tear myself away from my druid when there’s still so much left to do. Heck, I’ve barely unlocked world quests!

What you might not know is that on September 7th, I got to meet Sarah Maas: author of the Throne of Glass and Court of Thorns and Roses series. Let me just say that I adore her writing. I discovered her books the year after her debut novel released and was immediately hooked. Her world building is stellar, her characters are eerily realistic and identifiable, and the way she paints her setting is perfect – as in, I utterly idolize her ability to weave description seamlessly into the story, and hope to one day create books half as good as hers. I pre-order everything she puts out, and I haven’t been disappointed yet.

img_0094

And I got to meet her! Like, listen to her talk about her journey and inspirations and writing habits … and (theoretically) talk to her while she personally signed her new release for me. I say theoretically because I was so excited/nervous/starstruck that, even though I rehearsed my lines beforehand, all I could do was babble like a weirdo when I was finally in front of her. As in I told her ‘You’re such an inspiration!’ about nine times – and that’s about it. Ugh, why do I have to be such a fangirl? That and I felt the need to explain why I brought her a gift: though I don’t think I explained it very well. Again, all coherent thought flew out of my head when I got to the signing table. (And no: it wasn’t bribery or anything. Her writing is an incredible gift, in my opinion, and I wanted to give her something in return.)

img_0100

As if Legion and meeting Sarah Maas wasn’t enough excitement, I also celebrated my birthday on Monday. My coworkers surprised me with great balloons and awesome gifts, as did all my family and friends. (Well, minus the balloons – my boss was the only one cool enough to give me balloons 😀 ) So basically, I’ve been walking on clouds and rainbows for the past month. (Translation: I’m incredibly happy.)

img_0105

Now that all the fun is over (for now), I’m diving back into my writing. Yay, right? I know I’ve got a few fans out there desperate for the final installment of the Blessings of Myrillia. I assure you guys, I’m working on it! In the meantime, you can look forward to not one, but two super-cute short stories set within Myrillia. Stay tuned for more information – but I can tell you they’ll be out this holiday season. 😉

3 thoughts on “Birthday wrap up and back to the grinding stone … or laptop, I guess.

  1. I missed your birthday! I’m so sorry. Happy delayed birthday wish. It looks like you had a good one, too. May this new year of your life be the most prosperous period of writing and book sales you’ve ever imagined. May you win awards, gather reviews, climb sales ranks, and earn diehard fans!

Leave a Reply

