I have a confession to make.

The last week and a half of August, I failed miserably at my August goals. As in, zero book reviews and zero pages written. *smacks hand* Bad Crystin.

Honestly, I should have known better. The last week of August had a TON of fantastic and exciting things that I was waiting for, and I literally could not concentrate on anything for more than five minutes. I even had to stop drinking caffeine at work because I was bouncing off the walls without it. (Needless to say, my coworkers found me equally amusing and annoying.)

So what was I so hyped about?

First, the new World of Warcraft: Legion expansion released on August 30th … Ooh, and let me tell you, it’s incredible. I’ve wanted a demon hunter since I saw the cinematic with Illidan back in Burning Crusade (which is when I started playing, for those who want to know). Granted, I know that I’m easy to please, but Blizzard did not let me down: not only does demon hunter rock, I’m thoroughly enjoying all the new content and changes and little hidden gems. In fact, you’re all lucky I surfaced long enough to confess where I’ve been the last … has it already been three days? Oh well. At least I’ve been a responsible adult and still gone to work. 😉

However, Legion wasn’t the only thing I was excited about. Unfortunately, item number two resulted in a minor disappointment. Some of you may remember that I entered my second book, Fire Blessed, into the Reader’s Favorite International Book Award Contest. The results were announced on September 1st – sadly, my book didn’t place. Still, I received a glowing five-star review (which is pretty awesome) and I’ve added the books that did win to my TBR, so that I’ll get an idea of what the judges are looking for in future. Overall, I feel it’s been a positive experience, so I’m not particularly depressed or upset. I’ll just have to try harder next time: the way I look at it, I’ve already ‘not won’ once, so the worst has already happened.

Now I just have to keep trying until I succeed. Because I’m not gonna lie: I want a shiny award sticker on my books one day. 😀

 

Leave a Reply

