The subtle art of editing.

editing

You may laugh, but I’ve literally found myself doing this a lot – squished cheeks and all. Generally while I’m trying to think of body language other than ‘blinking in confusion’ or ’tilting a head in curiosity.’ Why must my characters always be confused or curious?! Oh, that’s right, because I decided to have an entire society built around lies … *heavy sigh* I guess I only have myself to blame.

However, despite my new proficiency at staring blankly at my computer screen, the first round of edits for Ice Blessed are almost complete! Only about forty more pages to go (and a handful of really stubborn sections that are bugging me) and then I can order a proof for test reading.

You might wonder how many rounds of editing I go through. Well, after this initial run, I’ll read through one more time to make sure I didn’t delete or adjust anything that affects existing sentence or plot structure. Then, once I have a print copy, I’ll read it again (in physcial form) to spot typos: believe it or not, you catch more – or at least, different – issues in a physical copy versus a digital version. I have no idea why, but I’ve not only read this advice but noticed it firsthand! So I always read the print copy before publishing. Finally, I’ll read the book out loud to myself – generally when I’m home alone with my cat. It’s awkward to read anything out loud with my hubby around: I feel like I’m back in high school reading for the whole class.

*gasp* Wait, aren’t author readings a big thing? Like, where I read my work to fans?!

I might be reading this one out loud a few times. Pieces of it, at least.

In other news, I thought I’d warn … er, inform the general public that I’ll be having a sale on my existing kindle books in May. If you know anyone who’d like to try the series completely free, send them to Amazon.com: UnBlessed will be free May 2-6 and Fire Blessed (for the first time ever!) will be free May 9-13.

Again, this is only for the kindle version of both books, and I’m giving you nearly a month’s advance notice. But it’s a great time to share a new fantasy series with your friends, coworkers, and family … and the sale gives new readers a couple weeks to catch up before the release of Ice Blessed! I wanted everyone to have a chance to save the dates on their calendars … if they wanted.

Don’t worry, I’ll remind all of you as May approaches. In the meantime, here’s bookmark number two. 😀

firefront2x6_bookmark

 

 

Leave a Reply

