Book review: The Burning Sky #fantasy #TuesdayBookBlog

A two-for-one review day!

Iolanthe Seaborne is an elemental mage, capable of controlling fire, water, and a little bit of earth. She’s unusual, but not incredibly rare. She certainly isn’t a great mage; she isn’t someone that should attract the attention of the Master of the Realm.

Or so she thought.

It turns out she is incredibly rare. She could possibly be the greatest mage of her generation, which explains the sudden interest of Prince Titus. But there are others who seek her power, others who don’t have her best interests at heart. Luckily, Prince Titus has spent his entire life planning on how to protect and train her.

Except all his plans hinged on the belief that she’d be a boy …

From Crystin’s Definitely-Gotta-Read-This Checklist:

Magic, check. Royalty, check. Character disguises (basically, cross-dressing), check. Humor, check. Romance, double-check.

Oh yeah, this is gonna be good.

In fact, there were only two aspects of the book I didn’t like … or well, three – but the third one is sort of a spoiler, so I’m not going to go into detail regarding that one.

One: the prologue completely and utterly confused me. Mainly because there was reference to Eton – which I know is a school in England. So I started reading the book thinking it was set in England … which it wasn’t. However, this complaint quickly turned into grudging admiration, because the story utilizes a sort of parallel-universe/alternate reality base for the events. Basically, mage realms (where the story starts) exist alongside non-mage realms (Earth), and mages can travel between the two. So the characters do go to the Eton I envisioned … eventually. I had to muddle along for a few chapters before I figured it out, though. The initial confusion was well worth it in the end, I think.

Two: the random footnotes bothered me. Maybe it was just the kindle version, but I’d be fully immersed in the story and enjoying the events, when suddenly a random little number would mark the end of a sentence. You know, like the kind that you’d find in research papers or educational manuals that cite a source or something. Now, when I got to the end and read what those little notes were for – yeah, it was kind of interesting. I like the additional backstory and explanations … but the implementation could have been done differently. It turned my wonderful romantic fantasy into a sort of textbook. No. Bad author … or formatter or whoever. Let me live the story without distraction, thank you. I’ll happily read all the little explanations at the end, no citation needed.

Did I like it? Uh, heck yeah. Would I recommend it? Duh! My only forewarning (other than the above) is that it suffers from series-syndrome. The ending isn’t too abrupt or cliff-hangerish … but the story definitely isn’t finished.

At least the next one is already published. No year-long wait here … heh heh heh. >:D

Leave a Reply

