Book Review: Do Not Wash Hands in Plates #humor #TuesdayBookBlog

Right. First of all, I don’t read non-fiction as a general rule. I’m a 100% fiction, 90% fantasy fan all the way … but this book blew all of my reservations out of the water.

I’ve followed Barb’s blog for over two years now, and I always get a good chuckle from her posts. I read One Way Fare (read the review here) back in 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it. So when she announced a humorous travel memoir about her recent trip to India, I decided it was a good opportunity to broaden my reading horizons a bit.

I have no regrets. Well, except for reading that chapter she recommended those with weak stomachs avoid … I laughed so hard my stomach still hurts.

In addition to the delightful tongue-in-cheek humor, Barb paints a fantastic picture of India: the food, the sights, the food, the people, the food … oh, and did I mention that there are pictures of food, as well as a few other random shots? Gorgeous full-color photo collages, even.

Honestly, the only way I could possibly enjoy this book more is if I had a rudimentary grasp of where exactly all these fascinating places are in relation to a map. In fact, there’s a very strong possibility that I might be rereading the book with a map of India open on my laptop so I can follow the journey properly … a huge feat considering my customary aversion to ‘real life’.

This book is perfect for anyone who enjoys a good laugh. Those who want to know a bit more about India (particularly from a sassy female tourist point-of-view) will also find this book rewarding. I even think the average Joe will enjoy it simply for the plethora of pictures. One tip I’d share though: the eBook starts at Chapter One … but don’t forget to read the Introduction!

After all, I’d hate for you to miss the importance of horn sonar …

 

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Do Not Wash Hands in Plates #humor #TuesdayBookBlog

    • I love Barb’s sense of humor, and it really shines in this book. I can’t get over how much I enjoyed it – I mean, typically I don’t get excited over non-fiction, but this book was a riot!

  1. Reblogged this on Barb Taub and commented:
    What a fun review for DO NOT WASH HANDS IN PLATES! While we are back in India working on the next installment, please take a look at this terrific review from Crystin Goodwin. “After all, I’d hate for you to miss the importance of horn sonar …”

  2. Awesome! When I read Barb’s posts from India I was thinking what a great book they would make. Perfect. Thank you for the great review Crystin.

Leave a Reply

