2015 End of the Year Synopsis

So ends another year … but at least my 2015 ended very well. I mean, you can’t beat New Year’s in Australia – complete with beach visits – can you? 😀

A few of my loyal followers might remember my New Year’s resolutions for 2015. I actually did a decent job with them this year, so I thought I’d do a quick recap to share my successes … and my challenges. 

Last year, I decided to:

1. Read more. Yeah, I blew this one out of the water. My goal for 2015 was to read 65 books and track them using the Goodreads Reading Challenge. As of December 31st, I have officially read 119. Technically, I also reread a few books and beta read an ARC of an as-not-yet released title, so I actually read more, but 119 is still a very respectable number, and definitely more than 65. I’m not going to argue details.

2. Publish more. I halfway achieved this one. Originally, I wanted to have my second and third books published by the end of the year. Fire Blessed came out on May 20, 2015 – success. However, instead of focusing on getting book three ready, I revised UnBlessed in order to make it the best it could possibly be and republished with epic new cover art. So I did technically publish two books this year – just not the two I originally planned. Note: I have gotten book three 3/4 of the way to a completed first draft, so there was progress on that front.

3. Write more. I’ll give myself a token for this one. My goal was to branch out and write more short stories and creative exercises. I did write one creative short piece to promote the rerelease of UnBlessed, and I’m halfway through a holiday short story featuring two of my favorite characters from Fire Blessed. But that’s it. So ‘A’ for effort. 🙂

4. Networking. Complete and utter failure. I definitely didn’t post once a week (though I did publish 61 posts last year, so at least I was active!). Facebook didn’t get a whole lot of attention either, just forwarded posts and the occassional ‘Have you read this yet?’ comment. Oh, but I did link Goodreads to Facebook – so everyone saw the ridiculous number of books I read. I would say I failed at Twitter even worse than the other two – but I actually started following a few of my favorite authors and I even read their tweets on a semi-regular basis. Considering how little I knew (and know) about twitter, I’ll count that as progress. I even tweeted a couple of times this year! And no, they weren’t just blog posts. 😛

5. Exercise. Again, another partial success. I did really, really well with my yoga practices … until May. Then I went back to my sporadic, procrastinate-as-much-as-possible self. I’ve managed to stay in better shape than I was in 2014, but I didn’t lose any weight (or clothes sizes). 

And there you have it! I may have only one fully achieved resolution, but the fact that I made progress on all of my goals is a huge improvement over past years. Usually, I forget my resolutions within the first week of January. And to be fair, I came really close on three out of five – yay me! 

Now to decide on this year’s resolutions …

4 thoughts on “2015 End of the Year Synopsis

  1. I am going to get technical on #4. There is a difference between Networking and being active on Social Media. Networking is making a quality connection with someone. Um, I say that was done. You found an editor and a cover artists and perhaps more. Now, I can’t say if you were active on Social Media, but that has limited benefits IMO. So, if you had to go bust on a goal, this is the one I personally wouldn’t mind. I’ll pick a quality connection over peering into the vast void of Social Media.

Leave a Reply

