Works in Progress Blog Hop

I was recently nominated for a Works in Progress blog hop by Harry Manners. Unfortunately, I ran into a snag when I was trying to find a nominee who would definitely be willing to participate, and I’ve waited far longer than I should have before continuing. Therefore, I’d like to start off by saying, “Please don’t hate me, Harry! I swear I didn’t forget or ignore you!!!”

And now, on with the show!


This particular blog hop is fairly simple, and right up my alley with Fire Blessed due out soon. So here are the rules:

  • Link back to the person who nominated you.
  • Write a little about and give the first few lines of your first three chapters from your WIP.
  • Nominate some other writers to do the same.

Like I said, simple. Except for the finding other writers part, but I’m hoping if I call some of them out in the actual post, one or two might rise to the occasion.


Although I’ve already included the link to my nominator, I’d like to take a moment to tell you a bit about him. Harry Manners currently has two novels available: Ruin, a post-apocalyptic novel, and Our Fair Eden, a dystopian cli-fi (climate change science fiction). He also has a short story available in the No Way Home anthology, and is currently working on the second novel in the Ruin Saga, Brink. Definitely give his books a look, especially if you’re into sci-fi or dystopian works!


Now for a little bit about my WIP. Most of you know I’ve been working on the sequel to UnBlessed, and that it’s currently in the editing stages. I’ve only recently come to realize that Fire Blessed could be classified as both a sequel and a companion novel to the first. Roughly the first half of the second book parallels the timeline in UnBlessed, but tells the story from a different point of view, one that sheds more light on the surprise ending in the first novel.

Since the blog hop specifically states to post lines from my first three chapters, I’m skipping my Foreword. Honestly, I don’t think the first few lines of that would make sense anyway. And now, without further ado, I present to you a teasing glimpse at Fire Blessed!

Chapter One

Marius Caleo walked further into the abandoned palace, eyes roaming over the space curiously. This was one of the more ancient grand palaces, possessing  multiple dining rooms, public parlors, and a massive ballroom. One of the biggest ballrooms in all of Civitas, in fact. Smirking, he stared around the entrance hall of his new home.

Chapter Two

With a smooth bow, Marius glanced through his lashes to study his new roommate. The boy was tall for thirteen—taller than Marius, in fact. That was mildly annoying; he hated looking up at someone younger than he was. But this Lucien didn’t really look thirteen at all. Maybe it was the white hair?

Chapter Three

It was happening all over again.
Granted, it was evening—not midday. The butler had actually managed to answer the door this time, too. But there was a surreal sense of familiarity to the scene that reminded Marius of the horrific day two years ago.


Now for the nominees!

This is, of course, completely voluntary. Even if no one participates in the hop, everyone should check out these blogs for their awesome posts, the links to fantastic books, or to drool over their flash fictions and pray for the day they publish a full novel. I know that’s what I do. 🙂

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Works in Progress Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: Works in Progress Blog Hop | Barb Taub

Leave a Reply

