Reading goals and a sassy book review

Hello loyal readers!

Yes, yes, I know. I missed last week’s post. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ But hey! I’m here now, right?

AND since it’s Wednesday, I thought I’d share some reading related news!

As I mentioned at the beginning of the year, I’ve set a goal to read 65 books this year. I’m proud to say that I’m currently at 16 books this year: that’s 8 books ahead of schedule! ๐Ÿ˜€

Granted, I believe a good portion of that is because I went on a junk-food book binge for Valentine’s Day. Let me tell you: it was glorious. Although, I should probably explain what I mean.

Similar to the idea of guilty pleasure books, junk-food books are those easy-to-read, rot-your-brain books that you can’t help craving to read (or re-read). My personal weakness? Regency historical romances.ย  I especially like Amanda Quick (for suspenseful, reluctantly-in-love stories) and Julia Quinn (for quirky, witty, and slightly more realistic characters). It helps that I’ve always been fascinated by the thought of earls, dukes, lords, princes … you get the picture.

In addition to my junk books, I’ve been combing through my unread books on my kindle. I’m currently on the final book of Jeff Wheeler’s Muirwood series, which has been a pleasant surprise thus far. I bought them when they went on sale for 99 cents ages ago (after reading the sample chapter of the first book) but never actually sat down to read them. Until now. I must say, they’re a pleasant YA fantasy series, with just enough romance thrown in to make me grin like a maniac when I read them at work. Or so my co-workers tell me.

BUT

What I really want to share with you guys is what has to be one of the most frustrating books I’ve read in years. Years, I tell you. Below you’ll find the review I left on Goodreads. I’ll confess, I was feeling a bit … unsettled … when I wrote it. It makes me laugh now, though. (After a few days to allow the pain of betrayal to fade … and for a new series to ease the pain of my wounded heart.)

  • Title: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  • Genre: YA Fantasy/Romance

So here’s my dilemma. This book completely sucked me in, fascinated me, taunted me … tormented me. Sure, there were a few story items that didn’t seem very thought out, and a couple of the plot twists were a teeny bit unbelievable, but it was still extremely entertaining. I try not to analyze my fiction when I read, unless something is blatantly wrong. I didn’t have that problem much in this book; I was too wrapped up in the story.

But I was livid – LIVID, I tell you – when I found out that I fell in love with the wrong guy. I hate that: hate it, hate it, HATE IT. What’s worse, he ended up being the villain of the story. A villain that you don’t see coming. A villain who seems like the perfect guy until the END OF THE BOOK. I swear I thought I was going to throw my kindle through a window. Or a wall.

My husband would say, “But isn’t it great that the author could capture those feelings of betrayal and anguish?”

My answer? No. No it is not.

Yet despite my rage, my anguish … I have a very strong feeling that I will be hunting down the rest of the books as they come out, because a tiny part of my brain still hopes that my character could yet be redeemed.

I hate hope. :/

The worst part? Not only would I read it again (and suffer), but I’d give the story a full five stars. (Now, if only people would STOP this annoying habit of writing in the present tense … it’s unnatural, I tell you. Unnatural.)

7 thoughts on “Reading goals and a sassy book review

  1. Pingback: Favorite Books (and series!) of 2015 | Crystin Goodwin

  2. Pingback: My first book subscription box. – Crystin Goodwin

Leave a Reply

