New Year’s Resolutions

Hello again, folks!

I know, I know – there’s been a huge lapse in posts lately. I could give a bunch of really good reasons why: I work retail during the holiday season, I’m still obsessed with the new Warcraft expansion, I’ve been working on rereading the Hollows series, and still working on getting Fire Blessed primed and ready for publication.

That doesn’t change the fact that I haven’t been posting like a good little author.

*heavy sigh*

So, that being said – I thought I’d write up a New Year’s Resolution post. I mean, making something like that public is supposed to make me more accountable or something, right? Plus, some of you might actually want to know what I have planned for the next year. Or not – that’s not gonna stop me from posting it anyway. 😉

So, in no particular order, here are my resolutions for 2015!

  1. Read more books. Heh. I don’t mean it in a general sense, though. After learning that a few fellow bloggers had book goals for the year, I got curious as to how many I read on average. Currently, I’m sitting at 53 books read this year, or about 1 a week. I’d like to see if I can beat that next year. Say maybe … 65. Yeah. That’s a good number. (If you’re curious as to what books I’ve read this year, check out my Reading List 2014 page!)
  2. Publish more books. Technically, I wrote two books this year, but only managed to publish my first. Fire Blessed will definitely be out early 2015 (I’m currently waiting on cover art and edits to get back to me) and I want to try and get the third book in the series finished and published before the holiday season next year. Although, I guess one book a year isn’t too shabby.
  3. Write more. You’d think this would be in with the publishing thing, wouldn’t you? But I actually would like to try and do more creative exercises – flash fiction or short stories, maybe. In fact, I’ve hinted to some co-workers that I might do a batch of custom short stories as a belated Christmas gift. They get to pick the genre and what sort of characters they want, and I write it. *shrugs* I thought it was an interesting idea.
  4. Network. While I’m not necessarily a social media butterfly, I do realize that having a presence online is essential to getting my works read. I’m not going to expect myself to spend loads of time drafting schedules and planning out posts weeks in advance, but I do hope to do the following:
    1. Blog. One post a week, minimum. Anything goes. In addition, I’d like to post one book review a month. If I want to write and post more, so be it. But no cheating and just doing a book review every week.
    2. Facebook. Believe it or not, I do have a Facebook page. Now I just have to figure out what I’m supposed to do with it, other than have my blog posts forwarded. :/
    3. Twitter. I’d like to try and get into twitter a little more. I don’t really understand it, but I can give it a try.
  5. Exercise more. Yeah, yeah – that doesn’t really have much with blogging or books right? But I’m hoping the whole accountability thing might spill over into more personal goals. I’ve been wanting to get into yoga for a couple of years now, and I want to lose a little weight and be healthier. I just can’t get from the ‘wanting’ to the ‘doing’. Hopefully, by admitting to hundreds of virtual strangers online, I’ll shame myself into actually getting somewhere this year. 😀 It helps that I might be on an Australian beach this time next year – wouldn’t want to embarrass myself in a bikini, would I?

I’m sure I could come up with loads more resolutions made with good intent, but I think these five are the ones I’ll be working on the most.

Which means you guys can look forward to a post later this week. I’d have to start from January, 1st – right? 😀

 

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Happy New Year! Those are all wonderful goals, both personal and professional. 🙂 Be sure to let us know your Facebook & Twitter info so we can Like and Follow you. As I mentioned on my goals post, we are all each others’ accountability partners now, so feel free to ask me how I’m doing from time to time, and I’ll ask you the same. Best wishes! ❤

      • Good… I’ve Liked and Followed you, 🙂 You can look at my FB page: https://www.facebook.com/rachel.carrera.novelist and see… MOSTLY, I just allow my blog to post there, but I do try to put some fun things on there from time to time. A lot of times, I actually use my personal FB page and link back to my author page to get my friends to see something. Once I finally publish, self or otherwise, though, I will have a lot more things to put on the FB page, such as news, blurbs, where to buy books, etc. As far as Twitter, I’m still figuring that one out myself. I know it’s very good for finding agents and there are actually pitch contests sometimes. 🙂 Good luck! 😀

Leave a Reply

