Odds and ends.

As a few of you already know, I’ve been struggling with social media lately. Believe it or not, I’m not particularly social – unless video games or books are related. Or anime. But posting random information for (almost) strangers to read? That’s a little more difficult. But I’m working on it, honest!

That said, I’ll share a few fun things that I have going for me at the moment – at the very least it’ll help my blog friends get a better feel for who I am. ๐Ÿ™‚

First – my hubby and I finally went out and bought real furniture to replace the rental stuff we’ve had. This means I have an amazing new creative cubby! Complete with a solid birch desk, anย actualย office chair, and a filing cabinet/drawer storage space. Of course, I’m also thrilled with my new armchair for reading and the new mattress that shouldย hopefully be more comfortable than sleeping on the rock-like surface of theย last one. *fingers crossed*

In novel news, I finished my first draft of Fire Blessedย (yay!!) and I’m 3/4 of the way through the first rewrite. I’m finding that towards the end I skipped – a lot – to get to the exciting or easy to write parts. I still have a bit of work to do, but I’m really,ย really close. Which means, any of you interested in beta reading can start giving me a shout! This is the second book in a series, and in addition to readers who are familiar with my world, I’d actually like to have one or two whoย haven’t read the first book. I tried to make sure I included the basic information a new reader would need to know, without going overboard with what would seem like unnecessary information to a returning fan. Both viewpoints would be helpful – it would be awesome if everything made sense without the boring parts that can result from rehashing previous books. If everything goes well, I hope to have it ready for beta reading by November. Just in time for Nanowrimo. ๐Ÿ˜€

Ah, Nanowrimo. Or, for those who don’t know, National Novel Writing Month. It was just last year that I took the plunge and succeeded in writing 50,000 words in 30 days –ย UnBlessed was the result a few months later. It was the first time I had written anything longer than 10 pages, and it was exhilarating! The constant pep talks and encouraging emails from the sponsors of the event along with the support of friends helped me push past my insecurity and kept my momentum steady until I hit the finish line. ๐Ÿ˜€ Obviously, I really enjoyed the event, and I’m looking forward to trying it again this year – I’ve already started brainstorming for book three in my Myrillia series. BUT – I have a major contender this November.

In case most of you didn’t know, I’m an avid player of the online MMORPG, World of Warcraft. By avid player, I just mean that I put in a lot of game time; I’m by no means an elite raider, nor do I participate in PvP – I’m more of a casual player. Mostly because I have too many characters that I enjoy playing. An altoholic, that’s me. That and I love the collecting aspects – I had most of the vanity pets before battle pets or even the pet page was around (which started my multiple character problem) and the new toy box feature that was just added has me drooling. Which brings me to my dilemma this November: Warlords of Draenor, the new expansion for Warcraft, launches on November 13. Now, I’ve gotten aย lot better about rationing my time for gaming/writing/work/etc, but I always go a little crazy when expansions first come out. Trying to do Nanowrimo while fighting the temptation of new content will make for an interesting month.

And there you have it! A glimpse into the life of a gamer author. Hope you all enjoyed!

2 thoughts on “Odds and ends.

  1. What? An introvert writer??? Say it ain’t so ๐Ÿ˜› I am immune to the game thing, so I can’t offer any wordly advice. I will be writing. BUT knitting does tend to come into play more starting in Oct for me. Thankfully, I can knit and write at the same time…sort of…

  2. Congrats on the progress you’re making on your novel! ๐Ÿ˜€ That’s brilliant news!

    Social media is kind of blegh and I don’t do well at it either! But it’s always nice reading these posts that give a further glimpse into the bloggers behind them!

Leave a Reply

