And I have returned … sort of.

Some of you may have noticed my blog silence for the last few weeks … then again, maybe not. I ended up taking a leave of absence because I realized I was putting more time and energy into trying to decide what to write for my blog posts than I was writing my actual novel.

Not a good sign.

Then I took at look at the content of my posts. With the exception of my book reviews and maybe one or two of my writing posts, I don’t think I was providing the blogging community with anything worthwhile. Who cares if I achieved my weekly goals or not? Granted, some of you may have cared very much – in which case I apologize. But I couldn’t help feeling that I was only setting the goals to have something to post. Then when I didn’t meet those goals, I ended up getting frustrated with myself. When I could have saved the time and effort spent writing about my goals and just focused on doing them instead.

That said, my posting schedule is going away. If I have something to say or share with my wonderful followers, I will. I’ll still post random book reviews. There will probably be a lot of teaser posts as I get closer to publishing my second novel. (For those keeping track, I just finished the first draft! Once I do my major revisions, I’ll be looking for beta readers … you know who you are. *wink*)

But you probably won’t see another post detailing my goals for the week. Unless it involves a book signing event somewhere. 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “And I have returned … sort of.

  1. Crystin, your post really hit me. I’ve just been thinking the same thing myself. All my time goes into posting on my blog and here I’m supposed to be editing my book and not doing that. I admire your courage for sharing that online and deciding to change things. Good for you! Let me know how that goes!

  2. I did notice and I’m glad you’re back. 🙂 And whether you feel your posting goals are worth writing or not, remember, we can all be accountability partners and posting might push you to meet your goals. 🙂 But of course, if you’re feeling overwhelmed, then by all means it’s a good idea to hold off for a while. Best wishes! 😀

  3. Pingback: Balance | Taylor Grace

  4. I noticed too 😉 Figured life got in the way as it often does.
    This happens to all of us at some point. We’re writers, so write. I attempt to blog once a week and think that is very sustainable. I toyed with a schedule for topics, but it doesn’t work for me.

    Be social on social media. Go off and decompress after writing. Talk about other things. Meet new people. Catch up with others.

    The goal is to be a writer and while social media or marketing may be a part of it, those aren’t the main goal 😉

Leave a Reply

