Reading Wednesdays – Book Review: Graceling

  • Title: Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  • Genre: Fantasy

Lady Katsa is a Graceling – a person who has special talents and is marked with multicolored eyes. The talents can range from swimming, to dancing, to mind reading. Sounds pretty neat, right? Not really. You see, Katsa’s Grace is killing.

 

Normally I’d provide a much longer synopsis for my reviews, but honestly – that bit right there is what hooked me. I’ve recently discovered a soft spot for female assassin-type leads (hello Throne of Glass) but throw in the fact that the character has one blue and one green eye? I’m in.

I absolutely fell in love with this book. To the point where I had to force myself to put the book down and do vacation-y stuff. I loved the characters, even the annoying secondary ones (although I hope there’s a bit more about Raffin in future books). I adored the romance. In fact, Katsa’s approach to love was rather refreshing, actually. The world was rich and interesting; I can’t wait to read more in the series! My only complaint is that I really wanted a typical happy ending – it’s not a bad ending, but I hope the loose ends get tied up in future books.

I honestly think I can recommend this book to anyone, it’s that good. It has plenty to offer everyone – fantasy, romance, intrigue, suspense, violence – and it’s all neatly wrapped up in an easy to read package. Final bonus? It’s available on Kindle Unlimited for free!

3 thoughts on “Reading Wednesdays – Book Review: Graceling

Leave a Reply

