Monday Briefing – 8/25/14 (Goal Edition)

After realizing that the recap of my vacation was getting rather lengthy, I decided to post my goals for the week separately. Besides, six paragraphs of vacation stuff followed by a short paragraph of goals just looks funny.

So for the week, my goals are as follows:

  • Writing: Back to the grindstone!Β Fire Blessed isn’t going to write itself. I want to have 5,000 words at a minimum by next week. Even better would be to have an ending in sight, but one step at a time.
  • Reading: I absolutely loved binging on my books during vacation – I plan on reading more, though maybe not at the same pace. Since I missed my reading post last week, I’ll be sure to have two book reviews this Wednesday. If you haven’t already, check out my Reading List 2014 page to see what books I’ve read so far. August was basically all vacation reading. πŸ™‚
  • Personal: IΒ finally got my Texas driver’s license, so I plan on getting a local library card this week. I also have an urge to watch a few old Disney favorites (go figure), so I hope to fit in at least one movie this week.

On a side note, I did the free trial of Kindle Unlimited for vacation. It was nice having a few extra books that I wouldn’t have had otherwise (I think I read four from the service?) but I can’t see that it’s much different than Overdrive with library books. Sure, you can have more titles for a longer period of time, but you can always re-borrow from a library – and library cards are free. The only thing I can see that Kindle Unlimited could eventually have going for it is a wider selection (right now my old library has more books I want to read than Unlimited does) and no hold lists (IΒ hateΒ when Overdrive finally gets a book I’ve been waiting to read and there are three other people in front of me waiting for the next available copy). Then again, Kindle Unlimited could be very dangerous for me – each of the books I ended up reading were ones I wouldn’t have picked up normally. I fell completely in love with one of them, which happened to be the first book in a series … and the remaining books aren’t on Unlimited. Meaning I have yet more books on my birthday list. *sigh*

3 thoughts on “Monday Briefing – 8/25/14 (Goal Edition)

Leave a Reply

