Madly Typing Friday – Camp is over!

Phew! Camp Nanowrimo is finally over! I didn’t hit my original goal, but I still managed to be a winner. Fire Blessed is now sitting at a very respectable 67,482 words! And yet, I’m still not finished … Not necessarily a bad thing, but I was hoping to get the first draft done before the Big Vacation next week. Don’t think it’s gonna happen. Which means I get to practice writing while travelling – oooh, how exciting! I’ve finally gotten back the roughly 1,500 words a day habit, and I really don’t want to fall off the wagon again. It does help that the rest of Fire Blessed is all mapped out, so unless I run over a major plot hole I should be able to keep up a good pace until the end. Then straight into book three … is it bad that I get goosebumps when I realize I’m going to be writing an entire series? This time last year I didn’t even anything more than a vague idea for a story. Now I have a book and a half! Well, a little more than half. But you get the idea.

Once the rough draft is finished, I’ll be sending it out to a few beta readers and to my editor. There will, of course, be a celebratory post when that happy day arrives, and there will be cover previews and excerpts shortly after that. If you haven’t read UnBlessed yet, remember that it’s available from Amazon – if you’re an Amazon Prime member or have Kindle Unlimited you can read it for free. Hmm. I probably shouldn’t advertise that. *shrugs*

A last piece of information to share with you all – UnBlessed now has five reviews! I’m a little bummed that more of my readers haven’t added a review yet, but I’ll take what I can get. Especially when they’re all five stars! Quality over quantity, right? Actually, I’m pretty sure the opposite is true in the book world. Oh, well. I’m working on it.

10 thoughts on “Madly Typing Friday – Camp is over!

  1. Reviews are always great! Especially such amazing ones 😀 I think sometimes a lot of readers don’t realise how reviews can mean so much to an author.

    Well done on CampNaNo, that’s incredible!

    • Thanks! I definitely didn’t realize how important reviews were until I started writing, so I don’t blame anyone in the slightest. I just wanted to celebrate the few I do have! 🙂

  2. My Camp was very unsuccessful, but I got a few things out of it. I got some inspiration. I got a desire to refocus. And now I’m attempting daily flash fiction stories. I’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

