Character Blog Hop

The very talented Mishka Jenkins recently linked an exciting (to me) blog hop – a character blog hop! How fun! I wasn’t specifically tagged for the hop, but she had a general nomination for anyone who wanted to participate. Besides, I couldn’t wait to obsess over my current favorite character. 😀 So on with the questions!

1) What is the name of your character? Is he/she fictional or a historic person?

Marius Caleo. Doesn’t the name just give you goosebumps?! Well, that’s probably just me. But Marius is a fictional person of my own creation. He had a few small appearances in my first novel, but book two is all about him. Like I said, I’m obsessed.

2) When and where is the story set?

Hmm, the when is a bit tricky. There isn’t a relative time to ‘the real world’ but the story overlaps a bit with my first novel. The setting is my fictional world, Myrillia, which is populated by two opposing magical races. Think Lord of the Rings mixed with Eragon.

3) What should we know about him/her?

Uh, that he’s awesome? Seriously though, Marius is a very fun character for me to write – I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but Marius undergoes some major changes throughout Fire Blessed, and I hope to create a character that readers will want to follow as the series continues. As for what you should know about Marius – he’s sarcastic, intelligent, selfish, rich, and full of his own self-importance. He also may (or may not) be a villian. Ooh, right? 🙂

4) What is the main conflict? What messes up his/her life?

Oh, there are so many. The main conflict is between the two opposing races: Transeatur vs. Melior. There is another conflict, but I can’t go into too much detail without giving away major spoilers. Let’s just say there is a hidden agenda among some of the Melior, and Marius plays a part in it. The problem is, he eventually discovers that what he was raised to believe doesn’t match what is actually going on. Which happens to be a reoccurring theme in my books.

5) What is the personal goal of the character?

To be the best. To be independent. To maintain his comfortable lifestyle. (I told you he was selfish!) Granted, these are his goals. There are a few other … individuals who have their own plans for him.

6) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?

Yup! Fire Blessed is the working title, and it would probably take an act of Congress to make me change it at this point. You can read a bit more about it on my blog – which, if you’re reading this, you should have found with no trouble. I plan to add a few teasers and excerpts from the book soon! You could also check out my current novel, UnBlessed. (Yes, I know. I’m shameless. But hey, it’s a part of a series! I wouldn’t want you all to be lost …)

7) When can we expect the book to be published? 

Oh goodness. You’re going to make me commit to a goal, aren’t you? Well, I can promise it will be out before the end of 2014. Otherwise, I think I have a few people who will start hunting me down (the first book had a teeny little bit of a cliffhanger). If I’m very lucky, I’d like to have it out by August. I’d just need to have someone help with my cover art. Any volunteers?

And there you go! A glimpse into my WIP. Does Marius sound interesting to you guys?

Now, to nominate 5 folks for the hop. I can actually do it this time around, yay! I’m also partiallly nominating for Mishka, as these are folks she follows, too. I think.

2 thoughts on “Character Blog Hop

  1. Great answers, Marius sounds pretty darn awesome! 😀 Gonna have to hurry up and read the first one in prep for your release of this book! Sounds really exciting.

Leave a Reply

