Reading Wednesdays – Book review!

Well, folks. I’m going to do it. I’m going to try and write a really good book review. This is actually kind of terrifying – I don’t normally look at reviews when I choose my books. I don’t really know what people look for in a review – from what I can tell, ‘It was great!’ doesn’t cut it. Then there’s the author’s viewpoint – I want to do right by them, and writing a mediocre review doesn’t seem like it would cut it. At least, to my perfectionist mind, it wouldn’t. If I absolutely loved the book, I want to let everyone know!

Enough with my insecurities now. I’m going to do my best, and if any of you regular reviewers have suggestions or resources for me – please, please share!

Book review: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake.

Cas Lowood is a ghost hunter. Not one of the camera lugging, night vision fanatics – no, Cas hunts dangerous ghosts and puts them to rest. When he goes after the ghost of Anna Korlov, better known as Anna Dressed in Blood, he thinks it’s just like any other hunt. Anna has killed every person who set foot in her house since her murder in 1958 – she is a menace that must be stopped. But when Cas finds himself helpless in her house – she spares his life.

I admit, I was intrigued when I first heard the premise of this story. A love story between a ghost and a ghost hunter? How in the world would that work?

The answer? Very well, actually.

I was hooked from the first chapter. The descriptions and imagery in the book are phenomenal – the readers first encounter with one of Cas’s ghosts is haunting and heartbreaking. The book could probably be classified as horror (there are some pretty intense sections that probably should have scared me) but I was too in awe of the story to be afraid. The romance in the novel is very well done, not so overpowering that it would be geared towards girls only, and the addition of the horror gives it a solid appeal to either gender.

Anna Dressed in Blood is classified as a young adult novel, but I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for an original, interesting, and well-written story.

2 thoughts on “Reading Wednesdays – Book review!

Leave a Reply

