Madly Typing Friday – Back to the grinding stone

I’ve been posting about my world-building strategy for the last few weeks, and letting folks catch a glimpse of how I created Myrillia. I intend to do more posts in that particular vein, but I’m starting to get the creative itch again.

The last few weeks, with the stress of the move and closing on the house has made it difficult to do any real writing. It’s taken all I have to stick to my posting schedule. Now, though, I’m finally back with my husband and things have started to settle down a little. IΒ want to write. I can feel it in my fingers. I can’t stop thinking of my characters; I’ve even started dreaming about them again. Hmm. Is that weird? I don’t particularly care if it is. My point is, I want to get back in my story. I want to surround myself with my world, and I’m eager to add to my legacy.

However, I’m running into a few problems. I imagine they’re fairly normal for authors. First, it’s been so long since I’ve jumped in and just startedΒ creating that I’m at a bit of an impasse. I know what I want to do, I just can’t seem to get it started. I’m sure it’ll come once I actually sit down in front of my keyboard.

My other problem is now that I’ve taken a break, all my insecurities have come bounding back. What if everything I’ve written so far in book two doesn’t make sense to readers? What if I’ve gone off on a random tangent that has nothing to do with the actual story? What do I do if no one likes my characters as much as I do?

The only thing I can do is force myself to move forward. To keep writing and ignore that little voice that is trying to stop me. Good thing I excel at ignoring anything unpleasant.

3 thoughts on “Madly Typing Friday – Back to the grinding stone

  1. Sometimes when describing what something is like, I find it helpful to think, ‘what do I definitely know it is NOT?’ Then you build by process of elimination.
    Well, it made sense in my head.

  2. What do you do? Write in your head. Grab bits and pieces as they fly by (That’s Paul McCartney on music) Play with the story. Let it go and come back. You can make notes and then throw them away. I never sit down to write, type, keypunch, until I have (most of) the story in my head. And if others don’t like your characters? Their problem. πŸ™‚
    Have a nice week-end
    (PS. Mon livre est fini, je n’ai plus qu’Γ  l’Γ©crire: Flaubert) πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

