Reading Wednesdays – What are your reading habits?

I pride myself on being a voracious reader, although I’m not being all that voracious at the moment. Believe it or not, I’m being very strict with myself because I want the move to go smoothly. So minimal reading, writing, and gaming is being done at this point in my little world. Everything revolves around the move and the house sale. But in less than a week I hope to go all out and devour some of the books that have been waiting patiently on my kindle and bookshelf.

I got to thinking about how little reading I’ve been able to do lately, and it reminded me of a few little quirks that I have with reading. It might be interesting to see how many other folks share them!

  1. I go through ‘reading phases’ where I’ll go awhile without reading anything, then all of a sudden I’ll read eight books in a week. It’s the weirdest thing. And if I get hooked on a series? I can go upwards of twelve books in a week. No, I’m not a speed reader – I don’t believe in skipping words. I just have a lot of practice and a lot of free time. Besides, sleep is for the weak.
  2. I’m a big re-reader. Some of my favorite books I’ve read over and over again (hello, Dragonriders of Pern), and I never get tired of them. Although, I usually give myself a few months to a year between re-reads.
  3. I get lost in my books. Literally. It drives my husband (and used to drive my parents) crazy. I’m not completely unaware of my surroundings – but I can’t get into a good book at work or while I’m cooking. In fact, reading and multi-tasking in general is a bad idea. At least I’m aware of this particular flaw(?) and make sure that I schedule my reading time when I don’t have to do anything. I even have to set alarms to stop reading if I have to work the next day.
  4. This brings me to my next quirk. I HATE being interrupted when I’m reading. HATE IT. To the point where I get irrationally angry, or so I’m told. But honestly – do you interrupt someone when they’re watching a movie? Or when they’re listening to their iPod? Why on Earth would you go up to someone reading in an airport terminal or sitting in Starbucks and try to strike up a conversation? Is reading a book not considered a legitimate form of entertainment anymore? Good grief, I’ve even been interrupted in the library before … and it wasn’t even book related!
  5. I hate being judged by what I’m reading. I know, this isn’t quite a ‘quirk’ but it ties in with the previous one. I’m not talking about the smirks from reading romance in public; I know I deserve those and I’m not ashamed. I’m talking about the folks who like to jump in their pulpit and preach at me when they discover I’m reading a vampire novel, or books about witches, or whatever controversial material I happen to have on hand. Yes, I’ve had it happen. Multiple times. Come on, people. It’s fiction. No, I’m not an atheist. No, I don’t think vampires are real. (At least, I haven’t met one. Haven’t met a ghost yet, either.) Does anyone else get this reaction? Or do I just look like someone in need of saving?
  6. I hate reading hard covers. I used to suffer through them in my favorite series (Harry Potter, Stephanie Plum, Dragonriders of Pern) but I’ve always preferred paperback. Now, I’m slowly converting into an ebook fan. I still love the feel of a book in my hands, but it’s awesome having an entire library at my fingertips. One of my biggest dilemmas is what I’m in the mood to read next, and my kindle gives me a huge selection to choose from. Plus, I’m horrible about returning library books on time – by borrowing books on the kindle, they auto-return. No more library fines. Woo!

So there you have it! A few of my random reading habits. Do you have an unusual habit when reading? Have you encountered a strange situation when reading in public?

9 thoughts on “Reading Wednesdays – What are your reading habits?

  1. I can relate. I don’t like reading in public because I don’t like how strangers use what I’m reading to strike up a conversation (and thus INTERRUPT me!). Now that I read mostly on an e-reader–and so people can’t see the title–the unwelcome conversations in public have decreased.

  2. I get wrapped up in books too. I have literally yelled at books before, because I realized something was going to happen or because something did happen that was upsetting. After Malfoy Manner in Deathly Hallows, I yelled “no” at the top of my lungs at the book and set it under the bed and left.

    I like my kindle for when I travel and can’t take books with me (they just weigh so much), but I usually still prefer a hardcopy, especially for books I love.

  3. I go through reading phases too 😀 Some days I can barely read a page I’ve got so much going on, other times I will put everything aside so as I can read!

  4. Here is my anaology on interrupting a person while reading: Two people are having a conversation and a third one walks up. The third person grabs one of the people in conversation, pulls them away and starts yapping at them about nonsense. Now wouldn’t the people originally talking find that hunacceptable? (Yes). So then why do peole think it’s OK to do that when someone is reading? They’re essentially interrupting a conversation 🙂 I ended up googling this because my boyfriend is constantly going off about how “rude” I am for reading “too much”. His mother feels the same way, like I’m committing a horrible crime when I read when she’s over. The stupid? She’s usually watching the news and keeps telling me to stop talking. So I read and then … it’s rude of me *shrug* I just think it’s funny

Leave a Reply

