Monday Briefing – Introductory post

Welcome to the first issue of Monday posts! This is where I hope to set up my goals for the week, and recap the events of the previous week. Right now, my goals are going to be a little sporadic, and will probably include some of my non-writer/non-reader events.

For example, I’m still in the process of moving and selling my house. By the end of the week, I hope to have all the stuff we’re keeping packed and moved to my parent’s house in preparation for the ‘big move’. Figures I’d plan a vacation the week before closing – but apparently high schools won’t postpone graduation ceremonies for sisters. And I’m not about to skip my baby brother’s graduation. (Yay, Zane! You did it!)

On the writing front, I still have a lot of work to do on Fire Blessed. This week I think I want to set an easy goal – 5,000 words by the end of the week. Depending on how much I slack off, I might actually get to exceed that. After all, I’m getting to the good parts of the book. I have one confrontation scene in particular that I’m really starting to get into. *rubs hands eagerly* Oooh, cat fight!

With reading, I have a definite goal in mind. I have a box of 21 books that I never got around to reading; either because they didn’t sound appealing or they were recommended to branch out my ‘reading vocabulary’. Rather than automatically packing them for the move, I’ve decided to read the first few chapters of each to see if they’re ones I would enjoy. Two so far have been a resounding ‘YES!’ – they’re part of a series that had me hooked within 10 pages. Hooked so much that I was worried I’d be late to work because I lost track of time! So two down, 19 to go. Also, at some point I want to reread my book – because the events of the sequel are intertwined with the first book. I want to make sure I’m not making any glaring errors. This might get postponed until vacation week. It depends on my mood, I guess.

Now for the recap section of Monday posts.

Last week, I decided on my posting schedule. I’ve managed to stick to my first two introductory posts (if you include this one), and I set up a page for my 2014 reading list. Check it out if you haven’t already!

In addition, I managed to add an additional 3,000 to Fire Blessed, putting my total word count in at 41,290. Not bad, considering everything I’ve had going on lately.

Speaking of which, I’ve managed to pack and clean out three of the 10 rooms in my house. (Yes, I’m counting the garage as a room. A big one, but it’s a room.) Two rooms are mostly packed (I have to have clothes to wear to work) and two others are going to be a real pickle. (I haven’t even started on the kitchen yet, let alone the basement!) Here’s hoping I can get the house sorted soon …

One thought on “Monday Briefing – Introductory post

Leave a Reply

