The Chocolate Book Tag

As some (or many) of you may already know, I’m a huge book nerd. I love books. In fact, my love of books and reading in general is what led me to my lifelong dream of writing my own book. So, when I saw this post by Hayley Knighten, I not only got super giddy at the thought of new books, but I decided I wanted to give it a try, too. So here it goes:

The Chocolate Book Tag is an Easter themed tag where you pick books that correspond to kinds of chocolate. Perfect posting idea for Easter itself, no? Of course, I don’t need an excuse to eat chocolate, and I certainly don’t need an excuse to find a new book, so I don’t see why folks can’t keep this particular tag going. 😉  

Also, fun fact: I found out while pondering my answers that I almost exclusively read series. Not necessarily a bad thing, I think, but interesting to note.

 

Dark Chocolate (a book with dark content/theme): Of course this would have to be the first. Dark … I don’t do dark often. I’d have to go with books by Dean Koontz for my dark selection. Fear Nothing was a delightfully creepy read. But if you want a ‘scare-your-pants-off-afraid-to-answer-the-phone’ read? Try False Memory. *shudders* That still has to be the best ‘worst’ book I’ve ever read. I still have nightmares about it. It follows a group of people who visit a psychologist – unaware that he’s using hypnosis to plant phobias and program them to obey after hearing a trigger-word. One of the most memorable scenes is when a guy gets off a phone call – where the first word is his trigger word – and realizes he’s lost three hours. Definitely not for the faint-of-heart.

White Chocolate (a light-hearted read): The Undead Series by Mary Janice Davidson. Also known as the Betsy the Vampire Queen series. I’ll tell you, I don’t think I’ve laughed so hard at a book in my life. Something about a vampire with a serious shoe fetish and a complete disregard for how vampires should behave just hits all my buttons. I’ve read up to volume 9, and let me tell you they are hilarious. Oh, there are a few ‘deep’ spots, but for the most part it kept me chuckling the entire time. First book is Undead and Unwed. Who wouldn’t want to pick up a book with that title?

Milk Chocolate (a hyped/popular book you really want to read): Here’s my dilemma. I really, really, want to read the rest of the Divergent series. I loved the first book, and really loved the characters. But, at the same time? I’m extremely resistant to giving it a shot. Why, you ask? Because I may or may not have been given a spoiler about the last book. One that would create an eruption of fury the likes of which the world hasn’t seen in … seven years or so. You see, I like happy books, with happy endings. I do not ever, everEVER think it is okay to end with less than a ‘happily ever after’. My husband recommended I read His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman, aka the Golden Compass series. The first two and a half books were amazing – I was hooked, I adored them. Then book three ended with the most awful turn of events – I was bawling and screaming like a madwoman. I called my husband at 3am to tell him what a horrible person he was, making me read something so utterly traumatic and why didn’t he warn me?! Needless to say, my husband has been afraid to recommend a book to me since. From what I can gather, Divergent is going to be the same way. I just don’t know if I can do it. *cringes* But I really, really enjoyed the world and the characters … ugh.

Chocolate with a Caramel Centre (a book that made you feel gooey on the inside): Gooey? Hmm. That’s a tough one. I don’t generally feel gooey … giddy maybe? It’s shameless of me, but my book, UnBlessed, is the last one that made me feel that way. Shoot, it was the closest I’ve felt to gooey, too. Hmm. Other than that, I guess I would have to say romance is what this calls for. I love the Bridgerton series by Julia Quinn – especially the one about Colin. I believe it’s number three, but I don’t know that it would ruin much if you read out of sequence. The books are set in Regency England, and follows eight siblings as they find ‘true love’. Super cute. Also, it’s part of a series, but Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas is one of my favorite romance reads. I love Sebastian and Evie – they’re just so … believable. Plus, I’m a sucker for the whole ‘redemption’ plot, where the guy is changed for the better by a less-than-ideal female.

A Wafer-free Kitkat (a book that surprised you): Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I came across it by accident when I was doing some research for the publication of my book. One of the acquisitions editors I was looking into wanted something similar to the book – so I read the kindle sample to see if my book was close. Needless to say, I completely forgot why I was researching the book, went waay beyond the free sample, and ended up reading it in one sitting. I think I even forgot to make dinner that night. It’s not that it has any surprising plot twists or anything – I was surprised by how hooked I was, and I couldn’t believe that it wasn’t more popular! I mean, I’d never heard of it before, and trust me – I should have. Fantastic fantasy/young adult read.

A Snickers Bar (a book you’re going “nuts” about): The October Daye series by Seanan McGuire. I found this series from a favorite author of mine who posted their favorite authors – and let me tell you, it’s fantastic! I love fantasy, I love romance, and I love fairy tales. This has it all! I also might have gotten a little geeky when I recognized where the author based a lot of her world building from … hint: if you like Shakespeare you’re in for a treat. The first in the series is called Rosemary and Rue.

Hot Chocolate with Whipped Cream and Marshmallows (a comfort read you turn to again and again): Dragonsdawn by Anne McCaffrey. The Dragonriders of Pern series was my very first ‘grownup’ series–and it was also the catalyst for my obsession with reading. In fact, Anne McCaffrey is my hero, and is the person I credit with influencing my dream of writing.  Dragonsdawn isn’t the first of the series, nor was it the one I was forced to read, but it has a special place in my heart, nonetheless. It sets the stage for all the following books beautifully, and I love the fact that it’s the most ‘science fiction’ of the entire series.

A Box of Chocolates (a series that has a lot of things many readers will like): Ooh, a toughie. I’ve already mentioned it, but I’ll put it here, too: The Dragonriders of Pern is a fantastic series. Who wouldn’t want to read a series with space travel, genetically engineered dragons, teleportation, romance, a semi-feudal society, and mortal peril? It is hands down my favorite series of all time (although some do come close) and one I recommend to everyone I meet. I recommend starting with Ms. McCaffrey’s suggestion: Dragonflight. If, however, you want to start with something more sci-fi, then try Dragonsdawn. (Dragonflight has more of a fantasy flavor to it, although it is definitely science fiction.) Also, so that I don’t feel like I’ve cheated, I’ll recommend the Hollows series by Kim Harrison. It’s a paranormal/dystopian/urban fantasy type series, but has a wonderfully refreshing take on a lot of ideas. It has romance, tragedy, death threats, comedy, and a host of other fun things going for it. One thing: don’t give up halfway through. I got really upset because the author killed off my favorite character in book three (I think? And it wasn’t a main character really, but still!) and refused to touch it for a few years. Then I saw that she had published eight more books, and I decided to see if the author redeemed herself. She totally did.

 

Whew! That was a lot more in depth than I thought it would be. Hope this gives some book-a-holics some new candy to sink their teeth into. Link back with your ‘book chocolates’!

One thought on “The Chocolate Book Tag

Leave a Reply

