A random rant about inconsiderate people.

So, as some of you may know (actually, most of you may not–but you do now), I’m in the process of selling my house in Colorado so that I can join my husband in our new home located in Texas. This is the first time I’ve been involved with the real estate market and house-selling in general. I never even had to deal with moving when I was growing up.

Over the last two weeks, I have gotten absolutely livid over how inconsiderate people can be. First, I’ve had two showings where the Realtor and the potential buyers were over 30 minutes late. I pride myself on punctuality, so I would have been irritated irregardless, but this also occurred late in the evening. Which meant, they showed up when I was in the middle of dinner. Oh, and did I forget to mention that I didn’t even get the courtesy of a phone call? Hence the reason I went ahead and started cooking. Not necessarily an ideal showing situation; although, I’ve heard that having yummy smells in the kitchen can influence buyers. These apparently didn’t appreciate the smell of pasta. I guess it could have been the garlic …

The no call/no show thing is a big pet peeve of mine–which probably developed from my day job. As a shift supervisor at Starbucks, there’s nothing more frustrating or terrifying than having someone not show up without letting you know in advance. *shudder* Those are usually the situations that lead to missed lunch breaks or getting out  hours late.

Well, in addition to the two late showings (which I wouldn’t have minded quite so much if they had bothered to call–they have my number. I know they do, because they called to schedule the showing in the first place) there have also been two completely cancelled showings. At least, I assume they cancelled because, again, they never showed up or bothered to call. I don’t care if you change your mind about looking at my house, but at least have the decency to let me know that you aren’t coming. I do live here and it’s not fair to me or my poor cat (who has to go in her kitty kennel so that she doesn’t escape outside–or panic and try to climb the curtains when she’s surrounded by strangers) to keep us hanging.

Of course, I could be making a big deal out of nothing. I just feel that if you take the time to call me and make an appointment, then you should also take the time to let me know if that appointment is going to change. *heavy sigh* It doesn’t help that I haven’t had a single offer on the house, either.

 

Okay, I’m done complaining now.

3 thoughts on “A random rant about inconsiderate people.

Leave a Reply

