… and at the last minute!

Whoops! Cut it a bit close with my posting goal this week … ah, well. At least it wasn’t necessarily procrastination – I actually had a lot go on this week. These are by no means in order, but I not only received the bundle of my books that I had ordered to hand out, but I had two house showings, wrote about 7k on the new novel, read two amazing new books, packed up another four boxes worth of stuff, realized I had waaay too many boxes of stuff so started plans for a garage sale, and I had three social engagements (meaning I actually left my house for something other than work … I wore normal clothes and everything!)

For those who don’t know me well: I have recluse tendencies. I’m lucky if I go out once every three weeks. Three in one week is unheard of. I’d rather play a video game or read a book than go out in public. Not that there’s anything wrong with it; I’m not phobic or anything. *shrugs* Maybe I’m just too lazy to put on shoes.

Moving on!

To touch on a few of the important events from the week; I discovered two amazing new books. One, Alacrán, The Honey Badger was a book recommended by a fellow blogger, and I decided to give it a try. It is definitely not something I would choose to read if left to my own devices; however, I’m extremely grateful I decided to read it anyway! Filled with witty banter, hilarious sarcasm, and astonishing storytelling, the book was so engaging that I couldn’t put it down. I will give this warning: I don’t think it will appeal to the faint of heart, or those without an open mind. Entire sections of the book will make you stop and really think about war, politics, the state of our country (Oh, American here … did I ever mention that?), and countless other potentially controversial topics. I found it enlightening. Which is weird, because I don’t usually want to be enlightened. Good heavens! Am I starting to grow up?! O.o

The second book I read this week isn’t published yet, but I’m going to start promoting her work anyway! Available to read for free on Wattpad, an online community themed around writing and storytelling, In 27 Days is a teen romance novel with a teeny bit of the paranormal thrown in. The author is the daughter of a good friend of mine, and he recommended I check it out when he heard about my story. Well, I did – thinking it would be a lighter option to Alacrán – and holy smokes, did I get my socks knocked off. The story centers around a girl who’s sent back 27 days in time to stop a classmate from committing suicide. Much heavier stuff than I first thought. BUT! The entire story is handled beautifully, and yet again – I found myself reading until the early hours of the morning … Needless to say, the sign of a good book is one I can’t stop reading. I simply cannot wait for this book to be in print, and I will probably be promoting it a bit more as she moves through the publishing process. In the meantime, I highly recommend reading it on Wattpad – registering for an account is free, and they have countless other stories available on there as well.

The final ‘important’ thing was the progress I made on Fire Blessed, the sequel to UnBlessed. I finally started making some headway on the events that happen in the second half … then I got sidetracked with a fun new project for the story. I guess it could be called world building? I also think it shows how ridiculously detailed and nitpicky I can get about the most random things … In Myrillia, the Transeatur are able to shift into animals – meaning they have sharper senses. In UnBlessed, I toyed around with … word associations for lack of the proper term. I know there’s a word for it but I’m drawing a blank. Basically, I started giving emotions ‘scents’. I started by just doing actual scents, but then started getting creative (mostly because I wanted something other than ‘sweet’ or ‘floral’ … those are boring). For example, love is ‘velvety’ and comfort was ‘soothing’. I was just writing whatever came to me, but then I started going back to reference what emotions I had already ‘created’ and before I knew it – I had started compiling a ‘dictionary of scents’. What? Don’t look at me like that, I already told you all that I was weird. So, yeah. In addition to my 7k of actual novel … I have a page and a half of my ‘scent dictionary’. Who knows, I might include it as a fun glossary item.

Leave a Reply

