Reading recommendations

So, not a whole lot of news regarding my novel. Currently waiting for my editor to finish going over the final draft, so it’s time to play ‘the waiting game’.

Since that’s the case, I decided to create a little – well, probably not little– list of some of my current favorite books and authors. I love finding new series or authors with work I like, so if any of the ones on my list are your favorites, too, do be sure to point out any other authors I might like! These are in ‘favorite’ order; although, many of them are tied for first, second, and third place. I always have a hard time choosing …
  • Anne McCaffrey. This author is absolutely amazing. Sadly, she passed away a few years ago, but she left behind a massive legacy. All of her books are fantastic, but I strongly recommend her Dragonriders of Pern series, her Talent series (also known as The Tower and the Hive series), and her Freedom series. Oh, and the Acorna series. Seriously, read all her stuff!
  • Seanan McGuire. I discovered this author recently on Todd McCaffrey’s blog (he’s another good writer: the son of Anne McCaffrey–go read his stuff, too!) Her October Daye series are the only books of hers I’ve read so far, but I devoured four of them in three days … not because they were short reads, but because I couldn’t put them down! Awesome stuff.
  • Patricia Briggs. Her Mercedes Thompson novels are awesome, with a fun twist on ‘werewolves’. Highly recommended!
  • Kim Harrison. The Hollows series is amazing, with really unique views on paranormal beings, like witches and vampires. Excellent, excellent series; even though I got mad at her for killing off my favorite character. (Hmm. I don’t think that would be considered a spoiler … I didn’t say who my favorite character was … )
  • R.A. Salvatore. The only books of his I’ve read are the Legend of Drizzt series; although, those are the only ones you really need. Drizzt is probably my all-time favorite book character, and that’s saying a lot. Just look at the list of books I have here … Fantastic fantasy, and I’m not gonna lie, one of the book series that made me want to try out Dungeons and Dragons.
  • Laurel K. Hamilton. Her Anita Blake series is fantastic, but I’ll warn you: the later books in the series are not for the faint of heart! There is some definite gruesome gore scenes, and some *ahem* risquΓ© love scenes later, too. I personally wouldn’t recommend for teenagers, but it’s up to the individual.
  • J. K. Rowling. Who doesn’t love the Harry Potter series?
  • Stephanie Meyer. Yes. I read Twilight. And yes, I liked it. Is it my favorite series of all time? Probably not, but I did like the originality of her vampires. Come on, it takes some awesome imagination to think up a different reason why they can’t go out in sunlight. The venom thing was pretty cool, too.
  • Lisa Kleypas. A good romance author, I particularly liked her Wallflower series. Devil in Winter is my particular favorite!
  • Julia Quinn. Hilarious and fantastic romance author. I love that she creates ‘realistic’ characters, in that the women aren’t stunningly beautiful, and the men aren’t all rich, handsome, perfect dukes or whatnot. Don’t get me wrong, there are dukes, they just aren’t perfect. And some of the parts will make you laugh out loud. Guaranteed.
  • Amanda Quick. Another good romance author, but unlike the two above, she writes some stuff other than historical romances. (Historical romances are the only ones I usually like, but the one or two ‘contemporary’ ones I’ve read of hers were good, too)
  • Janet Evanovich. Her Stephanie Plum novels are considered ‘mystery’, but they have the perfect blend of romance and comedy as well. These books were the first ones to make me laugh until I couldn’t breathe anymore. Highly recommended, but don’t try to read them while your significant other is trying to sleep.
  • Naomi Novik. Her Temeraire series is phenomenal, a great blend of history and fantasy. Imagine the hundred years war between England and France: but with dragons. No seriously. Napoleon commanded an ‘air force’ of dragons. Totally epic.
  • Jim Butcher. I’ve only read the first three Harry Dresden books, but I’ve enjoyed them all so far. I’d say it was a grown-up version of Harry Potter, but the only real similarities is that they both feature a wizard named Harry. *shrug* Oh, well. Go read them anyway.
  • Michael Crichton. I’ve read a lot of his books, and I’ve enjoyed them all. My favorites are Jurassic Park, Congo, and Sphere.
  • Dean Koontz. This is the first author I ever read that scared the bejeebers out of me. I never could finish reading False Memory; I’d freak out every time the phone rang! But Fear Nothing and Odd Thomas were fantastic!

There are hundreds of others that I could list here, but I’ll save them for another day. My final endorsement will be a generic recommendation: I’ve read all the World of Warcraft novels that are out there, and I enjoyed every single one. I recommend them for anyone that plays the MMO, and they make decent fantasy reading for those unfamiliar with the world.

Now go forth! Find yourselves a new world to get lost in!

Leave a Reply

